H.o.P.e. Revolution: Day 5 – just as i am

Day 5  (Sorry, that complete disregard for the steady, predictable nature of the calendar is genetic, on the Brandon side.)

God of Might, will you quiet the storms that unsettle our minds. May our anxious tendencies submit to your, “Peace, be still.”

                      “Come,” they told me. Pah-rum pa pum pum

I have no gift to bring,

                                            I am a poor boy , too

                                                                                                                                                                  Just as I am,

             Tho’tossedaboutwithmanyaconflictmanyadoubtfightings and fearswithinwithoutOhhhhhhh

                                                                             

                                                                                                    Lamb of God????

 

 

In 2008-ish, our homeschool co-op was  privileged to have Amanda Hostetler lead the quarter’s chapel session.  One day she challenged us to experiment with prostrating ourselves, face to the floor, in expression of our worship. One of my kids was  squirrelly that day, so ‘still’ was out of the question. I later found a few moments, and headed to a back storage closet. For some reason, one of my knees was swollen that day, so kneeling with my face to the ground was…awkward. I could not bend my knee. In order to accomplish that position of homage, my rather generous backside stuck way up in the air. Thankful to be in the closet, I nevertheless felt a tad vulnerable – and as the vulnerability of my position struck me, I began to tell God all. the. other. things. about which I felt vulnerable; things I had not previously confided to him, as I did not yet have them in ‘presentable’ order. What followed was a pouring out of fears: for my children’s development, the question of whether the glue of my marriage was of the permanent variety, my inability to help a hurting situation, the fear that I was in no-way adequate for any number of current roles, or future dreams. As I calmly lay out those vulnerabilities before Almighty God, he gently picked them up. It was an immeasureable relief to see those fears cradled/stayed in his strong grasp, and my unburdened heart was set free to worship.

Bet I’m not the only one who feels vulnerable, though I do have to admit to being a bit eclectic in my worries. And I’m not trying to eliminate fear – it’s a God-given alert mechanism. But fear, and worry, should send us straight to Jesus. With confidence.

Mark 4:37-38,40 NIV, tells a story: Jesus embarked on a voyage across the lake. “A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped. Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, ‘Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?’

He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, ‘Quiet! Be still!’ Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.”

And then he said, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?
God of Might, will you still the storms that unsettle our minds. May our anxious tendencies submit to your, “Peace, be still.” May renewed trust in you roll across the crevasse in such a way that the Prince of Peace is welcomed into places long-shuttered; where conflict, fueled by fear, has been the rule. Still hearts, homes, nations. Quiet evil. Please come and be our Prince of Peace.

So to honor him, pa rum pa pum pum: because thy promise,  I believe, Oh Lamb of God, I come…I come.

jlf 12/12

If fear and worry are steady companions, perhaps you’d like to read these verses:

They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength. Isaiah 40:31

You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in you, all whose thoughts are fixed on you! Isaiah 26:3

The Lord gives strength to his people; the Lord blesses his people with peace. Psalm 29:11

Selah

2 thoughts on “H.o.P.e. Revolution: Day 5 – just as i am

  1. Missy Horton says:

    Love this Jennie! As someone who struggles with fears and worries (and my many, many vulnerabilities), I love the picture of pouring everything out in an imperfect structure before our God who can make sense of it all. What encouragement just to have such a faithful, loving Father who wishes to hear our waterfall of anxieties. But then He washes over us his grace and peace so that we can go out and do the things He’s called us to do…unhindered, with a now open heart ready for worshipping and serving Him and loving in His name.

    Great post; and fantastic encouragement. Merry Christmas to you guys!

  2. Hi Missy, I would love to hear some of the ‘pouring outs,’ between you and God – I bet he gets a chuckle out of your story-telling every time. And then , EVERY time, He takes it all…never ceases to amaze me, that He can pick up the burdens and keep his patience with us, AND , as you say, put us back out there to represent him… lovely to hear from you – Christmas blessings to all of you…

Leave a Reply

